I was really hoping that the Sabres season wouldn’t come down to this, depending on wins against Detroit, Carolina, and Boston, as well as losses from everyone else, to get us into the post-season.

Call me a Debbie Downer, but let’s be realistic.  I’m just prepping myself for the pain I’m going to feel Sunday morning when I can no longer watch the Sabres until September.

And don’t think this doesn’t kill me, because it does.

Last night, while Kim and I were watching the Blackhawks game over at Clare’s with Emily, I was being all optimistic.  I honestly don’t remember what I said, but it was something along the lines of, “Hey, the Sabres can make it!”  But then I had to go and ruin it for myself by saying that, even if they do make the playoffs, they won’t go further than the first round.  I mean, Boston?  The Boston Bruins?  For serious?  We went 3-2 against them this year (…which is actually a lot better than I had thought; I remembered us getting killed by them basically every single time we played them except for the debut of the third jersey.  Apparently I don’t pay attention enough?).  Yes, that’s not entirely all that bad, but Boston has been atop the East all season, and they’re a damn good team who hasn’t had to kill themselves to *maybe* make the playoffs.  The Sabres would be tired, and probably wouldn’t stand much of a chance against the Bruins.

And I don’t know what’s worse…  Missing the playoffs?  Or the propects of being obliterated in the first round?

Hell, I’m going to be the same old optimistic fan I always have been.

We’re going to the finals.

 

On another note, my new best friend Ashley who lives up in Portland is the love of my life.  Mike Funk news and pictures are two of my favorite things ever, and she knows just how to make me happy.

Anne and I have been swooning for 12 hours straight for many reasons, and it’s not doing our psyches any favors.  We wouldn’t have it any other way, though.

 

And lest I forget, it’s Sparky’s Birthday!!!  Happy 24th Grizz!

macarthur_princess

Like your typical Doof/Man-Child, Clarke doesn't know how to take a picture properly. And this is why we love him.

Go Sabres!  Let’s make it happen, boys.  I can’t take your tears, so I’d better not see any.  Although, if you’re crying, I’ll be crying, and then I wouldn’t see anything, buy you know what I mean.

