Okay so correct me if I’m wrong but not too long ago it seemed as if the Sabres playoff hopes had gone the way of the circular file. Now it seems as if there might be a shred of hope left. Now that’s not to say that if we lose one of our upcoming games we’ll be all but eliminated, but things are definitely looking up from where they were a week and a half ago. I will admit that I was one of the people on Wednesday, when Sabres lost in overtime, saying that it was time to break out the golf clubs. Perhaps I was being too much of an alarmist, which I have a tendency to do. But now I’ve changed my tune, each day is a new day and there is always hope, and I sound like an inspiration video. I’m going to stop with the uplifting cliches now.

I missed last night’s game because I had to go to Niagara County Community College to see their production of Tick, Tick…Boom for my drama class. In reality I wasn’t even supposed to leave the house this weekend, doctor’s orders, because I’ve had a fever of 103 for the past two days. However, I was feeling better after missing school and laying about all day, and I really needed to see it in order to write a paper. Yeah that paper, which I actually should be writing right now, but whatever.

Anyways I was able to listen to the Washington goal, and the first two Sabres’ goals in the car because the musical didn’t start until 8. The musical ran without an intermission which meant that I had to wait until it ended at 9:30 to figure out what was happening with the game. I frantically pulled out my phone as the last chords of the music played and almost had a heart attack when I saw that Max had scored, but that was the last text I had. So I used the internet on my phone to figure out what was happening and saw that there were about 4 minutes left in the 3rd period. It was then that I had the suspicion that it was going to go to overtime, and because we kind of suck in overtime I put my phone away because I didn’t want to know anymore.

I hung around the lobby and talked to a few of the people that I knew and then headed to my car. Getting in I was greeted with Kevin Sylvester’s voice which didn’t sound disappointed, but I didn’t dare hope that the Sabres had done the impossible. But there it was Jason Pominville scores in overtime. Yay for broken condoms because the population in Pominville just went up by one more.

Now reading the paper this morning a great procrastination tool much like blogging I had to laugh at one thing that Miller said:

I get to play the villain for the night.

 I can see Miller as a villain in one of the old silent movies where he ties some poor girl to the railroad tracks. I don’t know what it is about him, maybe the dark shifty eyes or the lanky hair, that reminds me of the mustache twirling villains of old.

Well anyway tonight is New Jersey and Martin Brodeur, not something I’m looking forward to but there’s always hope. And there I go again.

